Election Results for Police & Crime Commissioners

The results for Police and Crime Commissioner Elections: Nov 15th

Avon & Somerset – Sue Mountstevens (Independent)

Bedfordshire – Olly Martins (Labour)

Cambridgeshire Graham Bright (Conservative)

Cheshire – John Dwyer (Conservative)

Cleveland – Barry Coppinger (Labour)

Cumbria – Richard Rhodes (Conservative)

Derbyshire Alan Charles (Labour)

Devon & Cornwall Tony Hogg (Conservative)

Dorset – Martyn Underhill (Independent)

Durham – Ron Hogg (Labour)

Dyfed Powys – Christopher Salmon (Conservative)

Essex – Nicholas Alston (Conservative)

Gloucestershire – Martin Surl (Independent)

Greater ManchesterTony Lloyd (Labour)

Gwent – Ian Johnston (Independent)

Hampshire – Simon Hayes (Independent)

Hertsfordshire – David Lloyd (Conservative)

Humberside Matthew Grove (Conservative)

KentAnn Barnes (independent)

Lancashire Clive Grunthaw (Labour)

Leicestershire – Clive Loader (Conservative)

LincolnshireAlan Hardwick (Labour)

MerseysideJane Kennedy (Labour)

Norfolk Steven Bett (Independent)

North Wales -Winston Roddick (Independent)

North Yorkshire – Julia Mulligan (Conservative)

Northamptonshire – Adam Simmonds (Conservative)

Northumbria – Vera Baird (Labour)

Nottinghamshire – Paddy Tipping (Labour)

South Wales – Alun Michael ( Labour)

South Yorkshire -Shaun Wright (Labour)

Staffordshire Matthew Ellis (Conservative)

Suffolk -Tim Passmore (Conservative)

Surrey – Kevin Hurley (Zero Tolerance Policing)

Sussex – Katy Bourne (Conservative)

Thames Valley – Anthony Stansfeld (Conservative)

Warwickshire – Ron Ball (Independent)

West Mercia – Bill Longmore (Independent)

West Midlands – Bob Jones (Labour)

West Yorkshire – Mark Burns-Williamson (Labour)

Wiltshire – Angus MacPherson (Conservative)

There was a remarkable is number of Independent candidates in these elections, many of whom were successful. Some areas have a large number of candidates, such as Doven and Cornwall with Six Independents as wall as a UKIP in addition to the Labour, Conservative and Lib-Dems.

Party Scores: Conservatives 15, Labour 13,  Independents 12

Voter turn-out was between 10%-20% with one polling station (Newport in Gwent) reporting a shocking 0%.
Worst turn-out for elections ever recorded.
The Electoral Commission, an independent body  whose job is to regulate and set standards for the conduct of elections called it “A bad day for democracy”.

By-Election results:

Corby Won by Labour

Manchester Central Held by Labour