National Club Cup Cricket Championship 2009

The inaugural edition of the National Club Cup Cricket Tournament kicked off Wednesday, 29 April 2009 with Top Sports Club of Noakhali taking on Shishu Park Ekadosh of Bandarbans at the Noakhali Shaheed Bhulu Stadium. The 37-team knock-out competition is being organized by BCB Tournament Committee. The first round will be held in seven venues (Potuakhali Stadium, Jhenidah Stadium, Mymensingh Stadium, Rajshahi Divisional Stadium, Noakhali Shaheed Bhulu Stadium, Cricket Garden Rangpur & Faridpur Stadium) across the country.

“This is an initiative to bolster club cricket throughout Bangladesh. The league champion teams of the districts are participating. We have even included last season’s league champions from districts that have not started their local league competition this season,” said Tournament Committee Chairman Gazi Ashraf Hossain.
The matches will be of 50 overs but in the case of a first round game not lasting even 20 overs the result will be decided by toss. Eight (08) teams will proceed to the quarterfinals which will be held in Dhaka. The champions and runners up of Chittagong Division+Sylhet Division zone will join champions of other six zones in the quarterfinals. There will be reserve days from the semifinal stage.

A club team is not allowed to include players from a different district. This rule is also applicable for registered cricketers of a local league who belong to another district. Each participating team however, can register a maximum of four (04) players from their respective local league clubs.

The BCB has introduced financial incentives for the championship.
“All participating teams will each receive Tk. 25,000.00 for match expenses. For a victory in the first round the winners will get Tk. 5,000.00. The qualifiers for the quarterfinals will get Tk. 20,000.00 for expenses and Tk. 8,000.00 for a win. The champion team’s prize money will be of Tk. 1,00,000.00 while the runners up will receive Tk. 50,000.00. The BCB will also arrange meals for the players which will be managed by local district sports associations,” informed Ashraf.